365 challenge / personal

365 Challenge – Week 7

Two more days of work and then I will be off to sunny Los Angeles for the weekend (for a conference, but what the hey I’ll take it!). Currently it is overcast and gloomy here in Syracuse, so when I check the 5-day for LA and see nothing but sunshine and mid-70’s weather I am pumpedJust the thought of sunshine makes my heart go pitty-pat. Although we will be there mostly for CE’s and other professional stuff, there will be some time to explore the city and hang out. I’ve been to LA before and I will admit I wasn’t overly impressed with the city, but I am willing to give it another chance especially since it has good weather!

Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4 | Week 5 | Week 6

Week 7

41
2/10 – Singapore rice noodles for dinner again! 

42
2/11 – I was actually going to use this photo for the photo challenge “Home” but I was too lazy to put it up! This is our well-lived in sofa, actually a sofa-bed but I think we assembled it wrong because it doesn’t fold out right! Our living room is frigid so we have a big fleece throw there to cuddle up under when we watch TV together.

43
2/12- Today was a fateful day for us. Before we went house-hunting for the day, we stopped by Pastabilities for lunch and I had this delicious pesto on angelhair, topped with shredded parm and pine nuts. And then afterwards, we saw the house we would end up buying…

44
2/13 – Another day, another wedding invite! This one is seriously adorable.

45
2/14 – Both my husband and I worked today, which was a mild downer. However, he surprised me when I was closing at work with a pretty bouquet of roses! And when he gave them to me, he said… “Happy Thanksgiving!” It was pretty cute.

46
2/15 – My lovely roses in natural light. I love them!

47
2/16 – We had another day off together and of course we went to Pastabilities again for lunch. I love their bar (despite having zero alcohol tolerance)!

Literary Quote:

Emma’s eyes were instantly withdrawn; and she sat silently meditating, in a fixed attitude, for a few minutes. A few minutes were sufficient for making her acquainted with her own heart. A mind like hers, once opening to suspicion, made rapid progress: she touched – she admitted – she acknowledged the whole truth. Why was it so much worse that Harriet should be in love with Mr. Knightley, than with Frank Churchill? Why was the evil so dreadfully increased by Harriet’s having some hope of a return? It darted through her with the speed of an arrow, that Mr. Knightley must marry no one but herself!

Emma, Jane Austen

Since it was Valentine’s Day week I thought it would be nice to put a quote from a romantic novel! Originally I was thinking to put one from a romance novel… but those were a little too spicy. Austen keeps it nice and G-rated. I went through a pretty severe Austen phase, I love watching the various movies and remakes and reading the books. Somehow when I read the books it helps for me to read them in my head with a British accent…

By the way, the 2009 BBC version of Emma is quite superior to the movie version with Gwyneth Paltrow. And of course Clueless is up there too!

Song of the Week:

This is one of those “baby-making jams” by Maxwell. The way he croons those lyrics is so sensual and romantic!

Leave a Reply

