personal

Happy Lunar New Year!

Today marks the first day of the Lunar New Year! This is the year of the Snake, so get your slithery self together. People born in the year of the Snake are said to be wise and good at finances, but are prone to jealousy and suspicion. I don’t know if I believe that all people born during this time period bear these characteristics… but I do love me some zodiacs.

Unfortunately we had to work this weekend so we couldn’t go home to NYC to be with our families for Chinese New Year – a little disappointing, because the holiday is all about being with family and of course eating some good food! Also a great opportunity to cash up as you will get plenty of red envelopes (lai see). Unfortunately now that I’m married I think I’m supposed to hand them out to the young’uns… ugh! Gotta pass the buck… literally. I did call my parents to recite the normal litany of New Year sayings, in Cantonese:

Gong hay fat choi! – 恭喜發財 – Congratulations and good luck… but more commonly used for Happy New Year!

Sun tai geen hawn! – 身體健康 – Be healthy!

Sun leen fai lawt! – 新年快乐 – Happy New Year!

Sum serng see sing! – 心想事成 – May your heart’s wishes come true!

And that pretty much sums up all the sayings I know! Actually my dad taught me a new one to say to people in business:

San yee hing long! –  生意兴隆 – May business prospects be good!

Next year (the year of the Horse) I will actually have the weekend of CNY off so back to NYC I will go! I’m looking forward to seeing my family again and gathering with my huge extended family for a big blowout dinner, and maybe checking out the parade in Chinatown. Plans for the future!

Here’s my horoscope for this year – lucky for the Rat, but better get some rose quartz to strengthen my love life!

Leave a Reply

